20 Things I’ve Learned Before Turning 20

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME. Do I look old yet? (I sure feel old.) Reflecting back on the past 20 years of my life, I have realized that I have learned a lot of valuable lessons, whether they came from good or bad experiences. Here’s a list of twenty things I’ve learned before turning twenty:

  1. Keep your circle close.

It’s much easier to balance school, work, and a social life when you can count the number of your best friends on one hand.

  1. Shit happens.

You could be having a perfect day, and then someone slams into the side of your car. Shit happens and we just have to deal with it as it comes. LIFE, man.

  1. Take every damn opportunity that comes your way.

For example, I am going to China in A WEEK!!!

  1. It’s okay to wear red lipstick to a 9am class.

Do what makes you happy because no one really cares.

  1. Don’t hold grudges.

Life is too damn short!

  1. Reading is cool.

When was the last time you read a book?

  1. Be straight up with people.

NO BULLSHIT!

  1. Its alright to put yourself first once in a while.
  1. Be your own sugar mama and treat yourself!

Yes, buy those shoes. You look good in them!

  1. Thank the universe.
  1. Be yourself.

People will love you for you.

  1. Make eye contact.

It’s meaningful and it portrays confidence.

  1. Learn from your mistakes…

(Still working on this one)

  1. Be kind to others, and yourself.
  1. Write people notes.

It means the world to receive a handwritten note.

  1. People are temporary.

Not everyone is meant to stay in your life.

  1. Sometimes you need to ask for help, and that is perfectly normal.

I always want to do everything myself, but I am not always right.

  1. People have different opinions and that’s okay.

You don’t need to cut people out of your life for one tiny disagreement

  1. Don’t lie, because it will catch up to you.

Trust me.

  1. Time is flying; appreciate every moment (good and bad)

Thank you for reading and thank you for all the birthday love!

Outfit details:

Shirt: Romwe

Overalls: Primark

Fishnets: Asos

Heels: I forget!!!

Photography by Konnor Durante and Matthew Thompson

_dsc9667-107_dsc9606-46feb19th-70_dsc9640-82_dsc9576-16_dsc9662-102feb19th-88_dsc9587-29

One thought on “20 Things I’ve Learned Before Turning 20

Leave a Reply

